Results of the Open Executive Session to Consider the Clean Energy for America Act

May 26, 2021

Amendment #55, Cornyn/Crapo/Lankford/Stabenow #3; Excluding Chinese Produced Electric Vehicles from the EV Credit. Approved by roll call vote of 28 ayes and 0 nays.

Ayes: Wyden, Stabenow, Cantwell, Menendez, Carper (proxy), Carper, Brown, Bennet, Casey, Warner (proxy), Whitehouse, Hassan, Cortez Masto, Warren, Crapo, Grassley (proxy), Cornyn, Thune (proxy), Burr (proxy), Portman, Toomey, Scott (proxy), Cassidy, Lankford, Daines, Young (proxy), Sasse, Barrasso.

Amendment #129, Barrasso/Crapo/Lankford/Daines #2; An amendment to keep energy costs low for Americans. Failed by roll call vote of 14 ayes, 14 nays.

Ayes: Crapo, Grassley (proxy), Cornyn, Thune (proxy), Burr (proxy), Portman, Toomey, Scott (proxy), Cassidy, Lankford, Daines, Young (proxy), Sasse, Barrasso.

Nays: Wyden, Stabenow, Cantwell, Menendez, Carper (proxy), Cardin, Brown, Bennet, Casey, Warner (proxy), Whitehouse, Hassan, Cortez Masto, Warren.

Amendment #81, Toomey #5; To strike Section 501(e) of the bill. Failed by roll call vote of 14 ayes and 14 nays.

Ayes: Crapo, Grassley (proxy), Cornyn, Thune, Burr (proxy), Portman, Toomey, Scott (proxy), Cassidy, Lankford, Daines, Young (proxy), Sasse, Barrasso.

Nays: Wyden, Stabenow, Cantwell, Menendez, Carper, Cardin, Brown, Bennet, Casey, Warner, Whitehouse, Hassan, Cortez Masto, Warren.

Amendment #90, Cassidy, Lankford, Daines #1; An amendment to the Clean Electricity Production Credit to require net-zero manufactured components. Failed by roll call vote of 14 ayes and 14 nays.

Ayes: Crapo, Grassley, Cornyn, Thune, Burr (proxy), Portman (proxy), Toomey, Scott (proxy), Cassidy, Lankford, Daines, Young (proxy), Sasse, Barrasso.

Nays: Wyden, Stabenow, Cantwell, Menendez, Carper, Cardin, Brown, Bennet, Casey, Warner, Whitehouse, Hassan, Cortez Masto, Warren.

Amendment # 48, Grassley, Crapo, Daines #2; To prevent improper payments and fraudulent claims of the electric vehicle tax credit. Failed by roll call vote of 14 ayes and 14 nays.

Ayes: Crapo, Grassley, Cornyn, Thune, Burr (proxy), Portman (proxy), Toomey, Scott (proxy), Cassidy, Lankford, Daines, Young (proxy), Sasse, Barrasso.

Nays: Wyden, Stabenow, Cantwell, Menendez, Carper, Cardin, Brown, Bennet, Casey, Warner, Whitehouse, Hassan, Cortez Masto, Warren.

Amendment #64, Thune #2; An amendment to the clean electricity credits to require efficient permitting. Failed by roll call vote of 14 ayes and 14 nays.

Ayes: Crapo, Grassley, Cornyn, Thune, Burr (proxy), Portman (proxy), Toomey, Scott (proxy), Cassidy, Lankford, Daines, Young (proxy), Sasse, Barrasso.

Nays: Wyden, Stabenow, Cantwell, Menendez, Carper, Cardin, Brown, Bennet, Casey, Warner, Whitehouse, Hassan, Cortez Masto, Warren.

Amendment #101, Lankford #1; Delay clean electricity production and investment credits until the Department of Energy provides certain certification. Failed by roll call vote of 14 ayes and 14 nays.

Ayes: Crapo, Grassley, Cornyn, Thune, Burr (proxy), Portman (proxy), Toomey, Scott (proxy), Cassidy, Lankford, Daines, Young (proxy), Sasse (proxy), Barrasso.

Nays: Wyden, Stabenow, Cantwell, Menendez, Carper, Cardin, Brown, Bennet, Casey, Warner, Whitehouse, Hassan, Cortez Masto, Warren.

Amendment 113, Daines #1; Reinstatement of percentage depletion and increase in rate for critical minerals. Failed by roll call vote of 14 ayes and 14 nays.

Ayes: Crapo, Grassley (proxy), Cornyn, Thune, Burr (proxy), Portman (proxy), Toomey, Scott (proxy), Cassidy, Lankford, Daines, Young (proxy), Sasse (proxy), Barrasso.

Nays: Wyden, Stabenow, Cantwell, Menendez, Carper, Cardin, Brown, Bennet, Casey, Warner, Whitehouse, Hassan, Cortez Masto, Warren.

Amendment #66, Thune #4; An amendment to reduce the electric vehicle credit phase-out threshold. Failed by roll call vote of 14 ayes and 14 nays.

Ayes: Crapo, Grassley, Cornyn, Thune, Burr (proxy), Portman (proxy), Toomey, Scott (proxy), Cassidy, Lankford, Daines, Young, Sasse (proxy), Barrasso.

Nays: Wyden, Stabenow, Cantwell, Menendez, Carper, Cardin, Brown (proxy), Bennet, Casey, Warner (proxy), Whitehouse, Hassan, Cortez Masto, Warren.

Amendment #46, Crapo #2; To provide for joint rulemaking by relevant agencies. Approved by voice vote.

Amendment #122, Young, Crapo #4; Fee on EV Fast-Charging Stations. Failed by roll call vote of 13 ayes and 15 nays.

Ayes: Crapo, Grassley, Cornyn, Thune (proxy), Burr (proxy), Portman (proxy), Toomey, Scott (proxy), Cassidy, Daines, Young, Sasse (proxy), Barrasso.

Nays: Wyden, Stabenow, Cantwell, Menendez, Carper, Cardin, Brown (proxy), Bennet (proxy), Casey, Warner (proxy), Whitehouse, Hassan, Cortez Masto, Warren, Lankford.

Amendment #91, Cassidy, Lankford, Daines, #2; An amendment to restrict goods produced by forced labor and child labor. Approved by unanimous consent.

Amendment #92, Cassidy, Crapo #3; An amendment to limit the electric vehicle tax credit expansion. Failed by roll call vote of 14 ayes and 14 nays.

Ayes: Crapo, Grassley, Cornyn, Thune (proxy), Burr (proxy), Portman (proxy), Toomey (proxy), Scott (proxy), Cassidy, Lankford, Daines, Young (proxy), Sasse (proxy), Barrasso.

Nays: Wyden, Stabenow, Cantwell, Menendez, Carper, Cardin, Brown (proxy), Bennet, Casey, Warner (proxy), Whitehouse, Hassan, Cortez Masto, Warren (proxy).

Amendment #108, Lankford #8; Delay effectiveness of Title V until certain U.S. Energy Information Administration certification. Failed by roll call vote of 14 ayes and 14 nays.

Ayes: Crapo, Grassley, Cornyn, Thune (proxy), Burr (proxy), Portman (proxy), Toomey (proxy), Scott (proxy), Cassidy, Lankford, Daines, Young (proxy), Sasse (proxy), Barrasso.

Nays: Wyden, Stabenow, Cantwell, Menendez (proxy), Carper, Cardin, Brown (proxy), Bennet, Casey, Warner (proxy), Whitehouse, Hassan, Cortez Masto, Warren (proxy).

Amendment # 117, Daines, Toomey, Lankford #5; DOE Certification that energy prices will not increase as a result of the bill. Failed by roll call vote of 14 ayes and 14 nays.

Ayes: Crapo, Grassley, Cornyn, Thune (proxy), Burr (proxy), Portman (proxy), Toomey (proxy), Scott (proxy), Cassidy, Lankford, Daines, Young (proxy), Sasse, Barrasso.

Nays: Wyden, Stabenow (proxy), Cantwell, Menendez, Carper, Cardin, Brown, Bennet, Casey, Warner (proxy), Whitehouse, Hassan, Cortez Masto, Warren.

On final passage of the Clean Energy for America Act, the vote resulted in a tie of 14 ayes and 14 nays. The chairman notified the committee that he would introduce as an original bill as modified and amended, and would seek tom place on the Senate Calendar under Rule XIV.

Ayes: Wyden, Stabenow, Cantwell, Menendez, Carper, Cardin, Brown, Bennet, Casey, Warner, Whitehouse, Hassan, Cortez Masto, Warren.

Nays: Crapo, Grassley, Cornyn, Thune (proxy), Burr (proxy), Portman, Toomey (proxy), Scott (proxy), Cassidy, Lankford, Daines, Young, Sasse, Barrasso.