1	EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING ON THE NOMINATIONS OF		
2	DAVID AUFHAUSER, KENNETH DAM, FARYAR SHIRZAD, GRANT		
3	ALDONAS, JOHN TAYLOR AND SCOTT WHITAKER.		
4	WEDNESDAY, MAY 1, 2001		
5	U.S. Senate,		
6	Committee on Finance,		
7	Washington, DC.		
8	The meeting was convened, pursuant to notice, at 11:15 in the hallway off the Senate Floor,		
9	in the Capitol, Hon. Fred Thompson presiding.		
10	Present: Senator Grassley, Hatch, Murkowski, Nickles, Gramm, Lott, Jeffords, Thompson,		
11	Snowe, Kyl, Baucus, Rockefeller, Daschle, Breaux, Conrad, Graham, Bingaman, Kerry, Torricelli, and		
12	Lincoln.		
13	Also present: Kolan Davis, Staff Director and Chief Counsel.		
14	Also present: Dean Zerbe, Republican Tax Counsel, Pat Heck, Democratic Tax Counsel, Mike		
15	Evans, Democratic Deputy Staff Director, Carla Martin, Chief Clerk, and Mark Blair, Hearing Clerk.		
16			
17			
18			
19			
20			
21	,		
22			
23			
24			
25			
26			
27			

1	STATEMENT OF HON. FRED THOMPSON, A U.S. SENATOR FROM TENNESSEE,		
2	MEMBER, COMMITTEE ON FINANCE		
3			
4	Senator T	hompson. Thank you for being here. Since we have a quorum present, I move	
5	that the Finance Committee go into Executive Session to consider favorably reporting 7		
6	nominations.		
7	If there is no objection, I move that the Committee favorably report the following nominations en		
8	bloc:		
9	David Aufhauser, to be General Counsel, Department of the Treasury.		
10	Kenneth W. Dam, to be Deputy Secretary, Department of the Treasury.		
11	Faryar Shirzad, to be Assistant Secretary of Commerce, Department of Commerce.		
12	Grant D. Aldonas, to be Secretary of Commerce for International Trade, Department of Commerce.		
13	John B. Taylor, to be Under Secretary, Department of the Treasury, and		
14	Scott Whitaker, to be Assistant Secretary of Health and Human Services, Department of Health and		
15	Human Services.		
16	The nominees are ordered favorably reported by recorded vote. The clerk will call the roll.		
17	The Clerk.	/Ir. Hatch?	
18	Senator Hatch. A	ye.	
19	The Clerk.	1. Murkowski?	
20	Senator Murkowsk	i. Aye.	
21	The Clerk. M	fr. Nickles?	
22	Senator Nickles. A	ye.	
23	The Clerk. M	Ir. Gramm of Texas?	
24	Senator Gramm. A	.ye.	
25	The Clerk.	fr. Lott?	
26	Senator Lott. A	ye.	
7	The Clerk M	Ar Jeffords?	

- 1 Senator Jeffords. Aye.
- 2 The Clerk. Mr. Thompson?
- 3 Senator Thompson. Aye.
- 4 The Clerk. Ms. Snowe?
- 5 Senator Snowe. Aye.
- 6 The Clerk. Mr. Kyl?
- 7 Senator Kyl. Aye.
- 8 The Clerk. Mr. Baucus?
- 9 Senator Baucus. Aye.
- 10 The Clerk. Mr. Rockefeller?
- 11 Senator Rockefeller. Aye.
- 12 The Clerk. Mr. Daschle?
- 13 Senator Daschle. Aye.
- 14 The Clerk. Mr. Breaux?
- 15 Senator Breaux. Aye.
- 16 The Clerk. Mr. Conrad?
- 17 Senator Conrad. Aye.
- 18 The Clerk. Mr. Graham of Florida?
- 19 Senator Graham. Aye.
- 20 The Clerk. Mr. Bingaman?
- 21 Senator Bingaman. Aye.
- 22 The Clerk. Mr. Kerry?
- 23 Senator Kerry. Aye.
- 24 The Clerk. Mr. Torricelli?
- 25 Senator Torricelli. Aye.
- 26 The Clerk. Mrs. Lincoln?
- 27 Senator Lincoln. Aye.

The Clerk. Mr. Chairman?

The Chairman. Aye.

The Clerk. Mr. Chairman, the tally is 20 ayes, zero nays.

The Chairman. By a vote of 20-0, the nominees are favorably reported. The Committee is adjourned.