1 OPEN EXECUTIVE SESSION TO CONSIDER FAVORABLY REPORTING 2 THE NOMINATIONS OF MICHAEL NEMELKA, CHRISTIAN WEILER, AND ALINA MARSHALL 3 MONDAY, AUGUST 3, 2020 4 5 U.S. Senate, 6 Committee on Finance, 7 Washington, DC. 8 9 The hearing was convened, pursuant to notice, at 10 5:30 p.m., in Room S-216, The President's Room, U.S. 11 Capitol, Hon. Chuck Grassley (chairman of the committee) 12 presiding. 13 Present: Senators Crapo, Roberts, Enzi, Cornyn, 14 Thune, Portman, Scott, Cassidy, Lankford, Daines, Young, 15 Sasse, Wyden, Stabenow, Cantwell, Carper, Cardin, Brown, 16 Bennet, Casey, Warner, Whitehouse, Hassan, and Cortez 17 Masto. 18 Also present: Republican staff: Nicholas Wyatt, 19 Tax, Infrastructure, and Nominations Policy Advisor. 20 Democratic staff: Michael Evans, Deputy Staff Director 21 and Chief Counsel; Ian Nicholson, Investigator; and

22 Joshua Sheinkman, Staff Director.

OPENING STATEMENT OF HON. CHUCK GRASSLEY, A U.S. SENATOR FROM IOWA, CHAIRMAN, COMMITTEE ON FINANCE

3

1

2

4 The Chairman. Today we are meeting to consider 5 three nominations that this committee examined in our 6 hearing on July 21st. The first nominee we will 7 consider is Michael Nemelka, nominated to be a Deputy 8 U.S. Trade Representative. 9 We will also be voting on two nominations to the 10 U.S. Tax Court. The first nomination pertains to Christian Weiler, and the second to Alina Marshall. 11 12 I would entertain a motion to favorably report the nomination of Mr. Nemelka. 13 14 Senator Crapo. So moved. 15 The Chairman. The clerk will call the roll. 16 The Clerk. Mr. Crapo? 17 Senator Crapo. Aye. 18 The Clerk. Mr. Roberts? 19 Senator Roberts. Aye. 20 The Clerk. Mr. Enzi? 21 Senator Enzi. Aye. 22 The Clerk. Mr. Cornyn? 23 Senator Cornyn. Aye. 24 The Clerk. Mr. Thune?

25 Senator Thune. Aye.

1	The Clea	ck.	Mr.	Burr?
2	Senator	Grass	sley.	Aye by proxy.
3	The Clea	ck.	Mr.	Portman?
4	Senator	Portm	nan.	Aye.
5	The Clea	ck.	Mr.	Toomey?
6	Senator	Grass	sley.	No by proxy.
7	The Clea	ck.	Mr.	Scott?
8	Senator	Scott		Aye.
9	The Cler	ck.	Mr.	Cassidy?
10	Senator	Cassi	dy.	Aye.
11	The Clea	ck.	Mr.	Lankford?
12	Senator	Lankf	ford.	Aye.
13	The Cler	ck.	Mr.	Daines?
14	Senator	Daine	es.	Aye.
15	The Cler	ck.	Mr.	Young?
16	Senator	Young	J •	Aye.
17	The Clei	ck.	Mr.	Sasse?
18	Mr. Sass	se.	Aye.	
19	The Clei	ck.	Mr.	Wyden?
20	Senator	Wyden	1.	Aye.
21	The Cler	ck.	Ms.	Stabenow?
22	Senator	Stabe	enow.	Aye.

1	The Clerk. Ms. Cantwell?
2	Senator Cantwell. Aye.
3	The Clerk. Mr. Menendez?
4	Senator Wyden. No by proxy.
5	The Clerk. Mr. Carper?
6	Senator Carper. Aye.
7	The Clerk. Mr. Cardin?
8	Senator Cardin. Aye.
9	The Clerk. Mr. Brown?
10	Senator Brown. Aye.
11	The Clerk. Mr. Bennet?
12	Senator Bennet. Aye.
13	The Clerk. Mr. Casey?
14	Senator Wyden. No by proxy.
15	The Clerk. Mr. Warner?
16	Senator Warner. Aye.
17	The Clerk. Mr. Whitehouse?
18	Senator Whitehouse. No.
19	The Clerk. Ms. Hassan?
20	Senator Hassan. Aye.
21	The Clerk. Ms. Cortez Masto?
22	Senator Cortez Masto. Aye.

1	The Clerk. Mr. Chairman?
2	The Chairman. Aye.
3	The clerk will announce the vote.
4	The Clerk. Mr. Chairman, the final tally is 24
5	ayes, 4 nays.
6	The Chairman. The "ayes" have it. The
7	nomination is ordered favorably reported.
8	The next nomination is Christian Weiler to be a
9	judge of the U.S. Tax Court. I would entertain a motion
10	to favorably report the nomination of Mr. Weiler.
11	Senator Wyden. So moved.
12	The Chairman. The clerk will call the roll.
13	The Clerk. Mr. Crapo?
14	Senator Crapo. Aye.
15	The Clerk. Mr. Roberts?
16	Senator Roberts. Aye.
17	The Clerk. Mr. Enzi?
18	Senator Enzi. Aye.
19	The Clerk. Mr. Cornyn?
20	Senator Cornyn. Aye.
21	The Clerk. Mr. Thune?
22	Senator Thune. Aye.

1	The Clerk.	Mr. B	surr?	
2	Senator Grass	sley.	Aye by	proxy.
3	The Clerk.	Mr. P	ortman?	
4	Senator Portm	nan.	Aye.	
5	The Clerk.	Mr. T	oomey?	
6	Senator Grass	sley.	Aye by	proxy.
7	The Clerk.	Mr. S	cott?	
8	Senator Scott	с. А	Ye	
9	The Clerk.	Mr. C	assidy?	
10	Senator Cassi	ldy.	Aye.	
11	The Clerk.	Mr. L	ankford?	
12	Senator Lankf	ford.	Aye.	
13	The Clerk.	Mr. D	aines?	
14	Senator Daine	es.	Aye.	
15	The Clerk.	Mr. Y	oung?	
16	Senator Young	g. A	ye.	
17	The Clerk.	Mr. S	asse?	
18	Mr. Sasse.	Aye.		
19	The Clerk.	Mr. W	yden?	
20	Senator Wyder	n. A	Ye	
21	The Clerk.	Ms. S	tabenow?	
22	Senator Stabe	enow.	Aye.	

1	The Clerk. Ms. Cantwell?
2	Senator Cantwell. Aye.
3	The Clerk. Mr. Menendez?
4	Senator Wyden. Aye by proxy.
5	The Clerk. Mr. Carper?
6	Senator Carper. Aye.
7	The Clerk. Mr. Cardin?
8	Senator Cardin. Aye.
9	The Clerk. Mr. Brown?
10	Senator Brown. Aye.
11	The Clerk. Mr. Bennet?
12	Senator Bennet. Aye.
13	The Clerk. Mr. Casey?
14	Senator Casey. Aye.
15	The Clerk. Mr. Warner?
16	Senator Warner. Aye.
17	The Clerk. Mr. Whitehouse?
18	Senator Whitehouse. Aye.
19	The Clerk. Ms. Hassan?
20	Senator Hassan. Aye.
21	The Clerk. Ms. Cortez Masto?
22	Senator Cortez Masto. Aye.

1	The Clerk. Mr. Chairman?
2	The Chairman. Aye.
3	The clerk will announce the vote.
4	The Clerk. Mr. Chairman, the final tally is 28
5	ayes and 0 nays.
6	The Chairman. The "ayes" have it. The
7	nomination is ordered favorably reported. The final
8	nomination is Alina Marshall to be a judge of the U.S.
9	Tax Court. I would entertain a motion to favorably
10	report the nomination of Ms. Marshall.
11	Senator Wyden. So moved.
12	The Chairman. The clerk will call the roll.
13	The Clerk. Mr. Crapo?
14	Senator Crapo. Aye.
15	The Clerk. Mr. Roberts?
16	Senator Roberts. Aye.
17	The Clerk. Mr. Enzi?
18	Senator Enzi. Aye.
19	The Clerk. Mr. Cornyn?
20	Senator Cornyn. Aye.
21	The Clerk. Mr. Thune?
22	Senator Thune. Aye.

1	The Clerk.	Mr.	Burr?
2	Senator Grass	sley.	. Aye by proxy.
3	The Clerk.	Mr.	Portman?
4	Senator Port	man.	Aye.
5	The Clerk.	Mr.	Toomey?
6	Senator Grass	sley.	. Aye by proxy.
7	The Clerk.	Mr.	Scott?
8	Senator Scot	t.	Aye.
9	The Clerk.	Mr.	Cassidy?
10	Senator Cass:	idy.	Aye.
11	The Clerk.	Mr.	Lankford?
12	Senator Lank:	ford.	. Aye.
13	The Clerk.	Mr.	Daines?
14	Senator Daine	es.	Aye.
15	The Clerk.	Mr.	Young?
16	Senator Young	g.	Aye.
17	The Clerk.	Mr.	Sasse?
18	Mr. Sasse.	Aye.	
19	The Clerk.	Mr.	Wyden?
20	Senator Wyder	n.	Aye.
21			
	The Clerk.	Ms.	Stabenow?

1	The Clerk. Ms. Cantwell?
2	Senator Cantwell. Aye.
3	The Clerk. Mr. Menendez?
4	Senator Wyden. Aye by proxy.
5	The Clerk. Mr. Carper?
6	Senator Carper. Aye.
7	The Clerk. Mr. Cardin?
8	Senator Cardin. Aye.
9	The Clerk. Mr. Brown?
10	Senator Brown. Aye.
11	The Clerk. Mr. Bennet?
12	Senator Bennet. Aye.
13	The Clerk. Mr. Casey?
14	Senator Casey. Aye.
15	The Clerk. Mr. Warner?
16	Senator Warner. Aye.
17	The Clerk. Mr. Whitehouse?
18	Senator Whitehouse. Aye.
19	The Clerk. Ms. Hassan?
20	Senator Hassan. Aye.
21	The Clerk. Ms. Cortez Masto?
22	Senator Cortez Masto. Aye.

1	The Clerk. Mr. Chairman?
2	The Chairman. Aye.
3	The clerk will announce the vote.
4	The Clerk. Mr. Chairman, the final tally is 28
5	ayes and 0 nays.
6	The Chairman. The "ayes" have it. The
7	nomination is ordered favorably reported. I thank my
8	colleagues for their time. The committee is adjourned.
9	[Whereupon, at 6:05 p.m., the meeting was
10	adjourned.]