OPEN EXECUTIVE SESSION TO CONSIDER FAVORABLY REPORTING THE NOMINATIONS OF DAVID FABIAN BLACK, OF NORTH DAKOTA, TO BE DEPUTY COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL SECURITY FOR THE TERM EXPIRING JANUARY 19, 2025; AND EMIN TORO, OF VIRGINIA, TO BE A JUDGE OF THE UNITED STATES TAX COURT FOR A TERM OF FIFTEEN YEARS THURSDAY, MAY 23, 2019

U.S. Senate,

Committee on Finance,

Washington, DC.

The executive session was convened, pursuant to notice, at 12:45 p.m., in room S-216, The President's Room, United States Capitol, Hon. Chuck Grassley (chairman of the committee) presiding.

Present: Senators Crapo, Roberts, Enzi, Cornyn, Thune, Burr, Isakson, Portman, Toomey, Scott, Cassidy, Lankford, Daines, Young, Wyden, Stabenow, Cantwell, Menendez, Carper, Cardin, Brown, Bennet, Casey, Warner, Hassan, and Cortez Masto.

Also present: Republican staff: Nicholas Wyatt, Tax, Infrastructure, and Nominations Policy Advisor; and Jeffrey Wrase, Deputy Staff Director and Chief Economist. Democratic staff: Michael Evans, Chief

LISA DENNIS COURT REPORTING

Counsel; Ian Nicholson, Investigator; and Joshua Sheinkman, Staff Director. Non-designated staff: Joshua LeVasseur, Chief Clerk and Historian; Athena Schritz, Hearing Clerk; and Jewel Harper, Senior Deputy Clerk.

The Chairman. The committee will come to order. I appreciate everyone being here for this afternoon's executive session.

We have two nominations before us, the first is the nomination of David Black to be Deputy Commissioner of Social Security. I would entertain a motion to favorably report the nomination of Mr. Black.

Senator Crapo. So moved.
The Chairman. The clerk will call the roll.
The Clerk. Mr. Crapo?
Senator Crapo. Aye.
The Clerk. Mr. Roberts?
Senator Roberts. Aye.
The Clerk. Mr. Enzi?
Senator Enzi. Aye.
The Clerk. Mr. Cornyn?

Senator Cornyn. Aye.

The Clerk. Mr. Thune?

Senator Thune. Aye.

The Clerk. Mr. Burr?

Senator Burr. Aye.

The Clerk. Mr. Isakson?

Senator Isakson. Aye.

The Clerk. Mr. Portman?

Senator Portman. Aye.

The Clerk. Mr. Toomey?

Senator Toomey. Aye.

The Clerk. Mr. Scott?

Senator Scott. Aye.

The Clerk. Mr. Cassidy?

Senator Cassidy. Aye.

The Clerk. Mr. Lankford?

Senator Lankford. Aye.

The Clerk. Mr. Daines?

Senator Daines. Aye.

The Clerk. Mr. Young?

Senator Young. Aye.

The Clerk. Mr. Wyden?

Senator Wyden. Aye. The Clerk. Ms. Stabenow? Senator Stabenow. Aye. The Clerk. Ms. Cantwell? Senator Cantwell. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Menendez? Senator Menendez. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Carper? Senator Carper. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Cardin? Senator Cardin. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Brown? Senator Brown. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Bennet? Senator Bennet. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Casey? Senator Casey. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Warner? Senator Warner. Aye. The Clerk. Senator Whitehouse? Senator Wyden. Aye by proxy. The Clerk. Ms. Hassan?

Senator Hassan. Aye. The Clerk. Ms. Cortez Masto? Senator Cortez Masto. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Chairman? The Chairman. Aye. The Clerk will announce the vote. The Clerk. Mr. Chairman, the final tally is 28 ayes and 0 nays.

The Chairman. The "ayes" have it. The nomination is ordered favorably reported. The next nomination is Emin Toro to be a judge of the United States Tax Court. I would entertain a motion to favorably report the nomination of Mr. Toro.

Senator Crapo. So moved.

The Chairman. The clerk will call the roll.

The Clerk. Mr. Crapo?

Senator Crapo. Aye.

The Clerk. Mr. Roberts?

Senator Roberts. Aye.

The Clerk. Mr. Enzi?

Senator Enzi. Aye.

The Clerk. Mr. Cornyn?

Senator Cornyn. Aye.

The Clerk. Mr. Thune?

Senator Thune. Aye.

The Clerk. Mr. Burr?

Senator Burr. Aye.

The Clerk. Mr. Isakson?

Senator Isakson. Aye.

The Clerk. Mr. Portman?

Senator Portman. Aye.

The Clerk. Mr. Toomey?

Senator Toomey. Aye.

The Clerk. Mr. Scott?

Senator Scott. Aye.

The Clerk. Mr. Cassidy?

Senator Cassidy. Aye.

The Clerk. Mr. Lankford?

Senator Lankford. Aye.

The Clerk. Mr. Daines?

Senator Daines. Aye.

The Clerk. Mr. Young?

Senator Young. Aye.

The Clerk. Mr. Wyden?

Senator Wyden. Aye. The Clerk. Ms. Stabenow? Senator Stabenow. Aye. The Clerk. Ms. Cantwell? Senator Cantwell. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Menendez? Senator Menendez. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Carper? Senator Carper. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Cardin? Senator Cardin. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Brown? Senator Brown. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Bennet? Senator Bennet. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Casey? Senator Casey. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Warner? Senator Warner. Aye. The Clerk. Senator Whitehouse? Senator Wyden. Aye by proxy. The Clerk. Ms. Hassan?

Senator Hassan. Aye

The Clerk. Ms. Cortez Masto? Senator Cortez Masto. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Chairman? The Chairman. Aye. The Clerk will announce the vote. The Clerk. Mr. Chairman, the final tally is 28 ayes and 0 nays.

The Chairman. The "ayes" have it. The nomination is ordered favorably reported. I thank my colleagues for their time. The committee is adjourned.

[Whereupon, at 1:35 p.m., the meeting was adjourned.]