Historical Membership Facts Regarding the Committee on Finance

Presidents who have served on the Committee on Finance

<u>Name</u>	Party/State	Congress(es)
Martin Van Buren	(DR-NY)	17 th
John Tyler	(NR-VA)	$22^{nd}-24^{th}$
Lyndon B. Johnson	(D-TX)	84 th

Vice-Presidents who have served on the Committee on Finance

Name	Party/State	Congress(es)
Martin Van Buren	(DR-NY)	17 th
William R. King	(J-AL)	21 st
John Tyler	(NR-VA)	$22^{nd} - 24^{th}$
John Calhoun*	(D-SC)	29 th
Charles Curtis	(R-KS)	$66^{th} - 70^{th}$
Alben W. Barkley	(D-KY)	$70^{th}-80^{th}$
Lyndon B. Johnson	(D-TX)	84^{th}

Secretaries of State who have served on the Committee on Finance

<u>Name</u>	Party/State	Congress(es)
Martin Van Buren	(DR-NY)	17 th
Louis McLane	(J-DE)	20 th
William Marcy	(J-NY)	22 nd

Daniel Webster*	(NR/W-MA)	$23^{rd} - 26^{th} \& 30^{th}$
Henry Clay*	(W-KY)	27 th
John Calhoun*	(D-SC)	29 th
John M. Clayton	(W-DE)	30 th
John Sherman*	(R-OH)	$37^{th} - 44^{th}$ and $47^{th} - 54^{th}$
Thomas Bayrad, Sr.	(D-DE)	$41^{st}-48^{th}$
Frederick T. Frelinghuysen	(R-NJ)	44 th
Cordell Hull	(D-TN)	72 nd
John Kerry	(D-MA)	$107^{th} - 113^{th}$

Secretaries of the Treasury who have served on the Committee on Finance

Party/State	Congress(es)
(DR-TN)	$14^{th}-15^{th}$
(J-DE)	20 th
(J/D-NH)	19^{th} , $27^{th} - 28^{th}$
(NR/W-OH)	23 rd & 31 st
(R-ME)	$35^{th} - 39^{th}$
(R-OH)	$37^{th} - 44^{th} \& 47^{th} - 54^{th}$
(D-KY)	39 th
(R-MA)	44 th
(D-KY)	52 nd
(D-TX)	$93^{rd} - 102^{nd}$
	(DR-TN) (J-DE) (J/D-NH) (NR/W-OH) (R-ME) (R-OH) (D-KY) (R-MA) (D-KY)

Speakers of the House of Representative who have served on the Committee on Finance

Name	Party/State	<u>Congress(es)</u>
Nathaniel Macon	(DR-NC)	$15^{th}-18^{th}$
Henry Clay*	(W-KY)	27 th
Robert Hunter*	(D-VA)	$30^{th} - 37^{th}$

Other Cabinet Members who have served on the Committee on Finance

<u>Name</u>	Party/State	Congress(es)	Position:
Levi Woodbury	(J/D-NH)	19^{th} , $27^{th}-28^{th}$	Sec. of the Navy
John Henry Eaton	(DR-TN)	$15^{th}-17^{th}$	Sec. of War
John M. Berrien	(J/W-GA)	19 th & 27 th	Attorney General
John Branch	(J-NC)	20 th	Sec. of the Navy
William Marcy	(J-NY)	22 nd	Sec. of War
William Wilkins	(J-PA)	23 rd	Sec. of War
Thomas Ewing	(NR/W-OH)	23 rd & 31 st	Sec. of the Interior
John J. Crittenden	(W/NR-KY)	$27^{th} - 28^{th} \& 34^{th}$	Attorney General
John Calhoun*	(D-SC)	29 th	Sec. of War
George E. Badger	(W-NC)	33 rd	Sec. of the Navy
Isaac Toucey	(D-CT)	$33^{rd} - 34^{th}$	Attorney General & Sec. of Navy
Simon Cameron	(R-PA)	$35^{\text{th}} - 36^{\text{th}}$	Sec. of War
George H. Williams	(R-OR)	$39^{th} - 41^{st}$	Attorney General

Henry M. Teller	(D-CO)	$57^{th} - 60^{th}$	Sec. of the Interior
Hoke Smith	(D-GA)	$63^{rd} - 65^{th}$	Sec. of the Interior
James J. Davis	(R-PA)	$75^{th}-78^{th}$	Sec. of Labor
J. Howard McGrath	(D-RI)	81 st	Attorney General
Clinton P. Anderson	(D-NM)	$84^{\text{th}} - 92^{\text{nd}}$	Sec. of Agriculture
Abraham Ribicoff	(D-CT)	$88^{th} - 96^{th}$	Sec. of Health, Education & Welfare
Daniel P. Moynihan*	(D-NY)	$95^{th} - 106^{th}$	Counselor to the President & U.S. Permanent Rep. to the U.N.
William Brock, III	(R-TN)	94 th	U.S. Special Trade Rep. & Sec. of Labor
Ken Salazar	(D-CO)	110 th	Sec. of the Interior
Rob Portman	(R-OH)	113 th –	U.S. Trade Representative

Supreme Court Justices who have served on the Committee on Finance

<u>Name</u>	Party/State	Congress(es)
Levi Woodbury	(J/D-NH)	19^{th} & $27^{th} - 28^{th}$
Hugo Black	(D-AL)	$74^{th} - 75^{th}$

*Chairman

President Pro Tems who have served on the Committee on Finance

<u>Name</u>	Party/State	Congress(es) on Finance	President Pro Tem
Samuel Smith*	(CR/J-MD)	$18^{th} - 22^{nd}$	$9^{\text{th}} - 10^{\text{th}}, 20^{\text{th}} - 22^{\text{nd}}$
Nathanial Macon	(DR-NC)	$15^{\text{th}} - 18^{\text{th}}$	19 th
Hugh L. White	(J-TN)	19 th	$22^{nd} - 23^{rd}$
John Tyler	(NR-VA)	$22^{nd} - 24^{th}$	23 rd
William King	(J-AL)	21 st	$24^{\text{th}} - 27^{\text{th}}, 31^{\text{st}} - 32^{\text{nd}}$
William Mangum	(NR-NC)	$23^{rd} - 24^{th}, 27^{th}$	$27^{th} - 29^{th}$
Jesse Bright	(D-IN)	$31^{st} - 33^{rd}, 35^{th} - 37^{th}$	$33^{rd} - 34^{th}, 36^{th}$
Charles Stuart	(D-MI)	$33^{rd} - 34^{th}$	34 th
Daniel Clark	(R-NH)	38 th	38 th
Benjamin Wade	(R-OH)	37 th	$39^{th}-40^{th}$
Thomas Ferry	(R-MI)	$42^{nd} - 47^{th}$	$44^{th}-45^{th}$
Thomas Bayard, Sr.	(D-DE)	$41^{st} - 48^{th}$	47 th
John Sherman*	(R-OH)	$37^{\text{th}} - 44^{\text{th}}, 47^{\text{th}} - 54^{\text{th}}$	49 th
Isham Harris	(D-TN)	$47^{th}-55^{th}$	53 rd
Matt Ransom	(D-NC)	52 nd	53 rd
Charles Curtis	(R-KS)	$66^{th} - 70^{th}$	62 nd
Jacob Gallinger	(R-NH)	$62^{nd} - 65^{th}$	62 nd
Henry Cabot Lodge	(R-MA)	$61^{st} - 65^{th}$	62 nd
William King	(D-UT)	$68^{th} - 76^{th}$	76 th
Pat Harrison*	(D-MS)	$68^{th} - 77^{th}$	77 th

Arthur Vandenburg	(R-MI)	$75^{\text{th}} - 79^{\text{th}}$	80^{th}
Walter George*	(D-GA)	$69^{th} - 84^{th}$	84^{th}
Orrin G. Hatch*	(R-UT)	114 th	114^{th}

*Chairman (Smith, Harrison and Hatch are the only ones to serve as Chairman and President Pro tem during the same session).

Member who have served as Chairmen of the Committee on Finance and the Committee on Ways and Means

<u>Name</u>	Party/State	<u>W&M - Congress</u>	SFC - Congress
George W. Campbell	(DR-TN)	10 th Congress	14 th Congress, 2 nd Session 15 th Congress, 1 st Session
John W. Eppes	(DR-VA)	12 th Congress	15 th Congress, 2 nd Session
Samuel Smith	(CR/J-MD)	15 th - 17 th Congresses	18 th – 22d Congresses
John Sherman	(R-OH)	36 th Congress	38^{th} Congress, 2^{nd} Session $40^{th} - 44^{th}$ Congresses
Justin S. Morrill	(R-VT)	39 th Congress	45 th Congress 47 th – 52 nd Congresses 54 th Congress 55 th Congress, 1 st & 2 nd Sessions