- 1 OPEN EXECUTIVE SESSION TO FAVORABLY REPORT THE
- 2 NOMINATIONS OF THE HONORABLE MICHAEL B. THORNTON, OF
- 3 VIRGINIA, TO BE A JUDGE OF THE UNITED STATES TAX COURT
- 4 FOR A TERM OF FIFTEEN YEARS (REAPPOINTMENT); JOSEPH W.
- 5 NEGA, OF ILLINOIS, TO BE A JUDGE OF THE UNITED STATES TAX
- 6 COURT FOR A TERM OF FIFTEEN YEARS, VICE THOMAS B. WELLS,
- 7 RETIRED; AND F. SCOTT KIEFF, OF ILLINOIS, TO BE A MEMBER
- 8 OF THE UNITED STATES INTERNATIONAL TRADE COMMISSION FOR
- 9 THE TERM EXPIRING JUNE 16, 2020, VICE DANIEL PEARSON,
- 10 TERM EXPIRED
- 11 THURSDAY, JULY 25, 2013
- 12 U.S. Senate,
- 13 Committee on Finance,
- Washington, DC.
- The meeting was convened, pursuant to notice, at
- 16 12:30 p.m., in S-219, the Committee on Rules and
- 17 Administration room of the Capitol, Hon. Max Baucus
- 18 (chairman of the committee) presiding.
- 19 Present: Senators Baucus, Rockefeller, Wyden,
- 20 Schumer, Stabenow, Cantwell, Nelson, Menendez, Carper,
- 21 Cardin, Brown, Bennet, Casey, Hatch, Grassley, Crapo,
- 22 Enzi, Cornyn, Thune, Burr, Isakson, Portman, Toomey.
- 23 Also present: Rory Murphy, Nominations and
- International Trade Advisor; Nick Wyatt, Tax and
- Nomination Professional Staff Member; Carla Martin, Chief
- 26 Clerk; Joshua LeVasseur, Deputy Chief Clerk; Lynn Becker,

Τ	Clerk;	Jewel	Harper,	Hearing	Clerk;	and	Logan	Smith,
2	Staff .	Assista	ant.					
3								
4								
5								
6								
7								
8								
9								
10								
11								
12								
13								
14								
15								
16								
17								
18								
19								
20								
21								
22								
23								
24								
25								

- 1 The Chairman. The committee will come to order.
- 2 The committee meets today to consider three nominations.
- I now entertain a motion that the committee favorably
- 4 report the nominations.
- 5 Senator Hatch. So moved.
- 6 The Chairman. The committee will consider the
- 7 nomination of the Honorable Michael B. Thornton, of
- 8 Virginia, to be a Judge of the United States Tax Court.
- 9 A recorded vote has been requested. The clerk will
- 10 call the roll.
- 11 The Clerk. Senator Rockefeller.
- 12 Senator Rockefeller. Aye.
- 13 The Clerk. Senator Wyden.
- 14 Senator Wyden. Aye.
- 15 The Clerk. Senator Schumer.
- 16 Senator Schumer. Aye.
- 17 The Clerk. Senator Stabenow.
- 18 Senator Stabenow. Aye.
- 19 The Clerk. Senator Cantwell.
- 20 Senator Cantwell. Aye.
- 21 The Clerk. Senator Nelson.
- 22 Senator Nelson. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Menendez.
- 24 Senator Menendez. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Carper.

1	Senator Carper. Aye.
2	The Clerk. Senator Cardin.
3	Senator Cardin. Aye.
4	The Clerk. Senator Brown.
5	Senator Brown. Aye.
6	The Clerk. Senator Bennet.
7	Senator Bennet. Aye.
8	The Clerk. Senator Casey.
9	Senator Casey. Aye.
10	The Clerk. Senator Hatch.
11	Senator Hatch. Aye.
12	The Clerk. Senator Grassley.
13	Senator Grassley. Aye.
14	The Clerk. Senator Crapo.
15	Senator Crapo. Aye.
16	The Clerk. Senator Roberts.
17	Senator Hatch. Aye by Proxy.
18	The Clerk. Senator Enzi.
19	Senator Enzi. Aye.
20	The Clerk. Senator Cornyn.
21	Senator Cornyn. Aye.
22	The Clerk. Senator Thune.

Senator Thune. Aye.

Senator Burr. Aye.

The Clerk. Senator Burr.

23

24

25

- 1 The Clerk. Senator Isakson.
- 2 Senator Isakson. Aye.
- 3 The Clerk. Senator Portman.
- 4 Senator Portman. Aye.
- 5 The Clerk. Senator Toomey.
- 6 Senator Toomey. Aye.
- 7 The Clerk. Mr. Chairman.
- 8 The Chairman. Aye.
- 9 The Clerk. The tally is 24 ayes, 0 nays.
- 10 The Chairman. The ayes have it. The nomination of
- 11 Mr. Thornton is ordered favorably reported.
- 12 The committee will now consider the nomination of
- Joseph W. Nega, to be a Judge of the United States Tax
- 14 Court.
- 15 A recorded vote has been requested. The clerk will
- 16 call the roll.
- 17 The Clerk. Senator Rockefeller.
- 18 Senator Rockefeller. Aye.
- 19 The Clerk. Senator Wyden.
- 20 Senator Wyden. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Schumer.
- 22 Senator Schumer. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Stabenow.
- 24 Senator Stabenow. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Cantwell.

1	Senator	Cantw	well.	Aye.
2	The Clea	ck. S	Senator	Nelson.
3	Senator	Nelso	on. Ay	e.
4	The Clea	ck. S	Senator	Menendez.
5	Senator	Menen	ndez.	Aye.
6	The Cler	ck. S	Senator	Carper.
7	Senator	Carpe	er. Ay	e.
8	The Clea	ck. S	Senator	Cardin.
9	Senator	Cardi	n. Ay	e.
10	The Clea	ck. S	Senator	Brown.
11	Senator	Brown	n. Aye	
12	The Clea	ck. S	Senator	Bennet.
13	Senator	Benne	et. Ay	e.
14	The Clei	ck. S	Senator	Casey.
15	Senator	Casey	y. Aye	
16	The Clei	ck. S	Senator	Hatch.
17	Senator	Hatch	n. Aye	•
18	The Clei	ck. S	Senator	Grassley.
19	Senator	Grass	sley.	Aye.
20	The Clei	ck. S	Senator	Crapo.
21	Senator	Crapo	Aye	
22	The Clea	ck. S	Senator	Roberts.
23	Senator	Hatch	n. Aye	by Proxy.

The Clerk. Senator Enzi.

Senator Enzi. Aye.

23

24

25

- 1 The Clerk. Senator Cornyn.
- 2 Senator Cornyn. Aye.
- 3 The Clerk. Senator Thune.
- 4 Senator Thune. Aye.
- 5 The Clerk. Senator Burr.
- 6 Senator Burr. Aye.
- 7 The Clerk. Senator Isakson.
- 8 Senator Isakson. Aye.
- 9 The Clerk. Senator Portman.
- 10 Senator Portman. Aye.
- 11 The Clerk. Senator Toomey.
- 12 Senator Toomey. Aye.
- 13 The Clerk. Mr. Chairman.
- 14 The Chairman. Aye.
- The Clerk. The tally is 24 ayes, 0 nays.
- 16 The Chairman. The ayes have it. The nomination of
- 17 Mr. Nega is ordered favorably reported.
- The committee will now consider the nomination of F.
- 19 Scott Kieff, to be a member of the United States
- 20 International Trade Commission.
- 21 A recorded vote has been requested. The clerk will
- 22 call the roll:
- The Clerk. Senator Rockefeller.
- 24 Senator Rockefeller. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Wyden.

1	Senator Wyden. Aye.
2	The Clerk. Senator Schumer.
3	Senator Schumer. Aye.
4	The Clerk. Senator Stabenow.
5	Senator Stabenow. Aye.
6	The Clerk. Senator Cantwell.
7	Senator Cantwell. Aye.
8	The Clerk. Senator Nelson.
9	Senator Nelson. Aye.
10	The Clerk. Senator Menendez.
11	Senator Menendez. Aye.
12	The Clerk. Senator Carper.
13	Senator Carper. Aye.
14	The Clerk. Senator Cardin.
15	Senator Cardin. Aye.
16	The Clerk. Senator Brown.
17	Senator Brown. Aye.
18	The Clerk. Senator Bennet.
19	Senator Bennet. Aye.
20	The Clerk. Senator Casey.
21	Senator Casey. Aye.
22	The Clerk. Senator Hatch.
23	Senator Hatch. Aye.

The Clerk. Senator Grassley.

Senator Grassley. Aye.

24

25

- 1 The Clerk. Senator Crapo.
- 2 Senator Crapo. Aye.
- 3 The Clerk. Senator Roberts.
- 4 Senator Hatch. Aye by Proxy.
- 5 The Clerk. Senator Enzi.
- 6 Senator Enzi. Aye.
- 7 The Clerk. Senator Cornyn.
- 8 Senator Cornyn. Aye.
- 9 The Clerk. Senator Thune.
- 10 Senator Thune. Aye.
- 11 The Clerk. Senator Burr.
- 12 Senator Burr. Aye.
- 13 The Clerk. Senator Isakson.
- 14 Senator Isakson. Aye.
- 15 The Clerk. Senator Portman.
- 16 Senator Portman. Aye.
- 17 The Clerk. Senator Toomey.
- 18 Senator Toomey. Aye.
- 19 The Clerk. Mr. Chairman.
- The Chairman. Aye.
- 21 The Clerk. The tally is 24 ayes, 0 nays.
- The Chairman. The ayes have it. The nomination of
- 23 Mr. Kieff is ordered favorably reported.
- The meeting is adjourned.

1	[Whereupon,	at	12:55	p.m.,	the	meeting	was	
2	concluded.]							
3								