INCREASE IN DEBT LIMIT

NOVEMBER 1, 1985.—Ordered to be printed

Mr. Rostenkowski, from the committee of conference, submitted in disagreement the following

CONFERENCE REPORT

[To accompany H.J. Res. 372]

The committee of conference on the disagreeing votes of the two Houses on the amendments of the Senate to the joint resolution (H.J. Res. 372) increasing the statutory limit on the public debt, having met, after full and free conference, have been unable to agree.

From the Committee on Ways and Means:

DAN ROSTENKOWSKI, SAM M. GIBBONS, J.J. PICKLE, C.B. RANGEL, PETE STARK, JAMES JONES, ED JENKINS, RICHARD GEPHARDT, MARTY RUSSO, JOHN J. DUNCAN, BILL ARCHER GUY VANDER JAGT, PHILIP M. CRANE, BILL FRENZEL,

From the Committee on Appropriations:

Jamie Whitten, Edward P. Boland, William H. Natcher, Neal Smith, C. Pursell, Tom Loeffler. From the Committee on Rules:

CLAUDE PEPPER, JOE MOAKLEY, BUTLER DERRICK,

ANTHONY C. BEILENSON,

MARTIN FROST, DELBERT LATTA, TRENT LOTT,

From the Committee on the Budget:

WILLIAM H. GRAY, GEORGE MILLER, MARVIN LEATH, JACK KEMP,

From the Committee on Government Operations:

Jack Brooks,
Don Fuqua,
Henry Waxman,
Mike Synar,
Frank Horton,
Thomas N. Kindness.

As additional conferees:

THOMAS S. FOLEY,
DAVID OBEY,
M.R. OAKAR,
LEON PANETTA,
VIC FAZIO,
ROBERT H. MICHEL,
DICK CHENEY,
LYNN MARTIN,
CONNIE MACK.

Managers on the Part of the House.

BOB PACKWOOD,
BILL ROTH,
PETE V. DOMENICI,
J.C. DANFORTH,
W.L. ARMSTRONG,
RUSSELL B. LONG,
LLOYD BENTSEN,
LAWTON CHILES,
CARL LEVIN,

Managers on the Part of the Senate.

JOINT EXPLANATORY STATEMENT OF THE COMMITTEE OF CONFERENCE

The managers on the part of the House and the Senate at the conference on the disagreeing votes of the two Houses on the amendments of the Senate to the joint resolution (H.J. Res. 372), increasing the statutory limit on the public debt, submit the following joint statement to the House and the Senate in explanation of the effect of the action agreed upon by the managers and recommended in the accompanying conference report.

From the Committee on Ways and Means:

Dan Rostenkowski, Sam M. Gibbons, J.J. Pickle, C.B. Rangel, Pete Stark, James Jones, Ed Jenkins, Rickard Gephardt, Marty Russo, John J. Duncan, Bill Archer, Guy Vander Jagt, Philip M. Crane, Bill Frenzel.

From the Committee on Appropriations:

Jamie Whitten, Edward P. Boland, William H. Natcher, Neal Smith, C. Pursell, Tom Loeffler.

From the Committee on Rules:

CLAUDE PEPPER,
JOE MOAKLEY,
BUTLER DERRICK,
ANTHONY C. BEILENSON,
MARTIN FROST,
DELBERT LATTA,
TRENT LOTT,

From the Committee on the Budget:

WILLIAM H. GRAY, GEORGE MILLER, MARVIN LEATH, JACK KEMP, From the Committee on Government Operations:

Jack Brooks,
Don Fuqua,
Henry Waxman,
Mike Synar,
Frank Horton,
Thomas M. Kindness,

As additional conferees:

Thomas S. Foley,
David Obey,
M.R. Oakar,
Leon Panetta,
Vic Fazio,
Robert H. Michel,
Dick Cheney,
Lynn Martin,
Connie Mack,

Managers on the Part of the House.

BOB PACKWOOD,
BILL ROTH,
PETE V. DOMENICI,
J.C. DANFORTH,
W.L. ARMSTRONG,
RUSSELL B. LONG,
LLOYD BENTSEN,
LAWTON CHILES,
CARL LEVIN,

Managers on the Part of the Senate.

О